List of Staff and Students

Staff

DavidApsley photo.jpg David Apsley
Lecturer in Civil Engineering

mail d.apsley@manchester.ac.uk
phone ++44 (0) 161 306 3732
Research Interests:
CFD; turbulence modelling; sediment transport; marine energy
Photo not yet added Mark Cotton
Lecturer

mail mark.cotton@manchester.ac.uk
phone +44 161 306 5752
Research Interests:
RANS turbulence modelling, including 'strain parameter' concepts; Heat transfer; Nuclear reactor thermal-hydraulics; 'Fully-pulsed' and 'synthetic' jets; Environmental flows.
TimCraft photo.jpg Tim Craft
Senior Lecturer

mail tim.craft@manchester.ac.uk
phone 0161 306 8728
Research Interests:
Turbulence modelling, CFD, Heat transfer
Photo not yet added Navraj Hanspal
__

mail
phone
Research Interests:
HectorIacovides photo.jpg Hector Iacovides
Professor

mail h.iacovides@manchester.ac.uk
phone +44 0161 200 3709
Research Interests:

* Turbulence Modelling,
* RANS Computation of Unsteady Turbulent Flows,
* Computation of Turbulent Free and Mixed Convection FLows,
* Computation Computation of Turbine Blade Cooling Flows,
* Experimental Investigation of Heat and Fluid Flow in Rotating Passages,
* Experimental Investigation of Natural Convection Flows
DominiqueLaurence photo.jpg Dominique Laurence
Professor

mail Dominique.Laurence@manchester.ac.uk
phone +44 (0) 161 306 37 04
Research Interests:
Turbulence models: RANS, LES, hybrid RANS-LES
Heat Transfer, Stratified Flows,
Numerical methods, Unstructured Finite Volumes,
Free Surface Flows, Smoothed Particle Hydrodynamics
Department of Mathematics and Applied Mathematics (LMAP), Inria project team CAGIRE, CNRS-university of Pau and Pays de l'Adour, Pau_

mail remi.manceau@univ-pau.fr
phone | Research Interests:
Turbulence modelling (RANS, hybrid RANS/LES)

Near-wall turbulence

Heat transfer
| ,
AdelNasser photo.jpg Adel Nasser
__

mail a.g.nasser@manchester.ac.uk
phone 0161 306 3537
Research Interests:
RobertProsser photo.jpg Robert Prosser
Senior Lecturer

mail robert.prosser@manchester.ac.uk
phone 0161 306 3716
Research Interests:
Computational combustion
Computational aeroacoustics
Wavelet methods
Multiresolution analysis
Boundary conditions
AlistairRevell photo.jpg Alistair Revell
Lecturer

mail alistair.revell@manchester.ac.uk
phone + 44 161 306 3762
Research Interests:
Turbulence Modelling and Simulation (RANS, LES, Hybrid Methods), Fluid Structure Interaction, Immersed Boundary Method, Lattice Boltzmann Methods, CFD on novel architectures
SergeiUtyuzhnikov photo.jpg Sergei Utyuzhnikov
Senior Research Fellow

mail s.utyuzhnikov@manchester.ac.uk
phone +44 161 306 3707
Research Interests:

* Computational Fluid Dynamics
* Active sound control
* Turbulence modelling
* Nonlocal boundary conditions
* Multiobjective Optimisation
* Industrial mathematics

Post-Docs

YacineAddad photo.jpg Yacine Addad
Assistant Professor

mail yacine.addad@kustar.ac.ae
phone +971 2 5018515
Research Interests:
CFD, Large Eddy Simulations, Turbulence Modelling, Turbulent Flows, Heat Transfer, Nuclear Engineering, Thermal Hydraulics.
Department of Mathematics and Applied Mathematics (LMAP), Inria project team CAGIRE, CNRS-university of Pau and Pays de l'Adour, Pau_

mail remi.manceau@univ-pau.fr
phone | Research Interests:
Turbulence modelling (RANS, hybrid RANS/LES)

Near-wall turbulence

Heat transfer
| ,
JuanUribe photo.jpg Juan C. Uribe
__

mail juan.uribe@edfenergy.com
phone +44 (0) 161 275 4306
Research Interests:
CFD, turbulence modelling. RANS, URANS, Hybrid Methods, HPC

Research Students

Photo not yet added Ishtiaq Ahmed
__

mail
phone
Research Interests:
Photo not yet added Umair Ahmed
Research Associate

mail umair.ahmed@manchester.ac.uk
phone
Research Interests:
Turbulent reactive flows, Flame turbulence interaction Turbulence modelling (RANS, Unsteady RANS), Premixed and partially-premixed combustion, Combustion in gas turbines, Large Eddy Simulation of turbulent flow.
Photo not yet added Dalila Ammour
PhD researcher

mail Dalila.ammour@postgrad.manchester.ac.uk
phone
Research Interests:
My Project Summary

Nuclear Engineering

Turbulent flows, Buoyant flows

Heat transfer and Natural convection

Turbulence Modelling (URANS, Wall functions and LES)

NeilAshton photo.jpg Neil Ashton
Research Associate

mail neil.ashton at manchester.ac.uk
phone
Research Interests:
* RANS, LES & hybrid RANS-LES methods
* Embedded LES/DDES & zonal approaches
* F1 Aerodynamics
* Industrial applications
Photo not yet added Ioannis Asproulias
PhD Student

mail ioannis.asproulias@manchester.ac.uk
phone
Research Interests:
CFD, Turbulence Modelling (RANS),
Modelling Shock Wave Boundary Layer Interactions,
Numerical Methods

MahmoudAssad photo.jpg Mahmoud Assad
_ Research Associate _

mail mahmoud.assad@manchester.ac.uk
phone
Research Interests:
Fire Modelling

The Stress-Strain Lag Turbulence Model (Stress/strain misalignment )

Unsteady RANS

Non-Newtonian fluid
FlavienBillard photo.jpg Flavien Billard
Post-Doc

mail Flavien[dot]Billard[at]manchester[dot]ac[dot]uk
phone 07917 652 562
Research Interests:
My Project Summary

Turbulence Modelling (elliptic relaxation / elliptic blending)

RANS/LES coupling

Moving Meshes with Code_Saturne
OlivierCozzi photo.jpg Olivier Cozzi
MPhil Student

mail olivier.cozzi@postgrad.manchester.ac.uk
phone +33 6 26 40 54 67
Research Interests:
* Free surface in Code_Saturne
* ALE (Arbitrary Lagrangian Eulerian) method in Code_Saturne
Photo not yet added Amr ElBanhawy
__

mail
phone
Research Interests:
ErincErdem photo.jpg Erinc Erdem
PhD candidate

mail erinc.erdem@postgrad.manchester.ac.uk
phone
Research Interests:
High Speed Aerodynamics

Experimental and Computational Fluid Dynamics

Propulsion Systems
KhaledEsteifi photo.jpg Khaled Esteifi
PhD student

mail Khaled.Esteifi@postgrad.manchester.ac.uk‎
phone
Research Interests:
Natural Convection Flows.
Experimental Methods.
MartinFerrand photo.jpg Martin Ferrand
Mphil. MACE

mail martin.ferrand@postgrad.manchester.ac.uk
phone
Research Interests:

* tubulence modelling
* stratified flows
* SPH
* Stochastic Calculus, Brownian Motion
GeorgiosFourtakas photo.jpg Georgios Fourtakas
PhD student

mail georgios.fourtakas@postgrad.manchester.ac.uk
phone
Research Interests:
Smoothed Particle Hydrodynamics:
Two phase flows, sediment transport, scouring, coalesce and heat effects
Photo not yet added Peter Gill
__

mail
phone
Research Interests:
HamidrezaDarabkhani photo.jpg Hamidreza Gohari Darabkhani
Alumni

mail h.g.darabkhani@gmail.com
phone +44 161 2754367
Research Interests:
Soot Temperature and Concentration, Flame Dynamics and Instabilities, Commercial CFD Packages (Fluent & Chemkin), Carbon Capture and Sequestration (CCS), Renewable Energy Systems, Quality Management Systems (QMS)
AmirKeshmiri photo.jpg Amir Keshmiri
Lecturer

mail a.keshmiri@manchester.ac.uk
phone +44 161 247 1695
Research Interests:
Turbulence Modelling;
CFD;
Heat transfer;
Biomedical Engineering;
Nuclear Engineering.
TaniaKlein photo.jpg Tania Klein
PhD Student

mail tania.klein@postgrad.manchester.ac.uk
phone
Research Interests:
CFD, turbulence modelling, non equilibrium flows
Photo not yet added Roberto Lotto
__

mail
phone
Research Interests:
Photo not yet added Ahmed Majhool
__

mail
phone
Research Interests:
Department of Mathematics and Applied Mathematics (LMAP), Inria project team CAGIRE, CNRS-university of Pau and Pays de l'Adour, Pau_

mail remi.manceau@univ-pau.fr
phone | Research Interests:
Turbulence modelling (RANS, hybrid RANS/LES)

Near-wall turbulence

Heat transfer
| ,
Photo not yet added Mark Mawson
PhD Student

mail mark.mawson@postgrad.manchester.ac.uk
phone
Research Interests:
Research Summary can be found here.
ArnoMayrhofer photo.jpg Arno Mayrhofer
PhD Student

mail arno.mayrhofer@postgrad.manchester.ac.uk
phone 07931871957
Research Interests:
My Project Summary

Smoothed Particle Hydrodynamics


Large Eddy Simulation
JamesMcNaughton photo.jpg James McNaughton
PhD Student

mail james.mcnaughton[AT]postgrad.manchester.ac.uk
phone
Research Interests:
* CFD of a marine turbine
* Interface of non-conforming meshes
* Rotating meshes
* Turbulence models in a rotating reference frame
ParhamMomeni photo.jpg Parham Momeni
Software developer - CFD Engineer

mail
phone
Research Interests:
Turbulence Modelling,
RANS Computation of Unsteady Turbulent Flows,
Heat Transfer Modelling
Open Source CFD (OpenFoam , Saturne, Salome)
AliOmranian photo.jpg Ali Omranian
Systems Project Engineer

mail ali.omranian@manchester.ac.uk
phone
Research Interests:
Numerical analysis of Buoyant flows

2D and 3D RANS and also 3D Unsteady RANS turbulence modelling

Application of advance near wall strategies
Photo not yet added Karim Osman
MPhil Student

mail karim.osman@postgrad.manchester.ac.uk
phone 00447551852928
Research Interests:
Turbulent Boundary Conditions for unstructured finite volumes (on "crazy meshes"), robust turbulence models and wall functions, unsteady inlet-outlet, wall roughness, immersed boundary method, mesh-less methods
GustavoPerez photo.jpg Gustavo Perez
PhD Student

mail gustavo.perezprieto@postgrad.manchester.ac.uk
phone + 44 (0) 753 590 5268
Research Interests:
Computational Fluid Dynamics,
High Performance Computing,
OpenSource Code Development,
Compressible Flows
RuggeroPoletto photo.jpg Ruggero Poletto
StartUpper in CFD

mail ruggero.poletto@gmail.com
phone +39 346 79 03 446
Research Interests:
Hybrid RANS/LES: embedded LES
LES inlet condition SEM (synthetic eddy method)
Development of a new divergence-free SEM (DF-SEM)
Implementation of synthetic turbulence under Code_Saturne

CFD on the CLOUD
CFD Consulting
StefanoRolfo photo.jpg Stefano Rolfo
Post-Doc

mail stefano.rolfo@manchester.ac.uk
phone
Research Interests:

* Non conformal mesh for LES computations.
* Mesh Quality criteria for LES.
* LES application for nuclear power plant.
* Hybrid RANS/LES with heat transfer
Photo not yet added Stuart Russant
EngD

mail stuart.russant@postgrad.manchester.ac.uk
phone
Research Interests:
AlexSkillen photo.jpg Alex Skillen
__

mail alex.skillen@postgrad.manchester.ac.uk
phone
Research Interests:
CFD, Overset grid method
BeeTay photo.jpg Bee Kiat Tay
PhD Student

mail bee.tay@postgrad.manchester.ac.uk
phone
Research Interests:
Street Canyon Flows, Urban Aerosol Modelling
ClareTurner photo.jpg Clare Turner
PhD Completed

mail clare.turner@alumni.manchester.ac.uk
phone
Research Interests:
Using commercial software (STAR-CD) for laminar-turbulent transition simulations; Implementation and evaluation of laminar-kinetic-energy-based transition models in the industrial Finite-Volume code, Code_Saturne.
Photo not yet added Sakchai Uapipatanakul
__

mail sakchai.uapipatanakul@postgrad.manchester.ac.uk
phone
Research Interests:
Photo not yet added Alastair West
Research Engineer (EngD )

mail alastair.west@postgrad.manchester.ac.uk
phone
Research Interests:
Unsteady Computational Fluid Dynamics

Nuclear Thermal Hydraulics
RuiXu photo.jpg Rui Xu
PhD Student

mail
phone +44 (0)161 3062614
Research Interests:
Meshless method (Smoothed Particles Hydrodynamics) to simulate flows;
liquid and gas two phase flows simulation
Error: (1) can't find MinaYaalimadad_photo.jpg at Main.MinaYaalimadad Mina Ya-alimadad
PhD Student

mail mina.ya-alimadad@postgrad.manchester.ac.uk
phone
Research Interests:
Photo not yet added Matthew Yates
__

mail
phone
Research Interests:
Photo not yet added Imama Zadi
PhD Student

mail mbgnhiz3@manchester.ac.uk
phone
Research Interests:
My Project Summary

Application of CFD in Industrial Safety, Fire modelling


This topic: CfdTm > WebHome > CfdTmPeople
Topic revision: r11 - 2007-10-07 - 20:20:12 - AlistairRevell
 
Copyright & by the contributing authors. Unless noted otherwise, all material on this web site is the property of the contributing authors.